top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGordie

Message to Class of 2020.

My hoofriends are leaving mom says. I dont understand this because they have been gone for what seems like forever, but she says that some of my favorite hoofriends have to go to college where they live there and learn to be even bigger people. Well, I hope they dont get too big and not want to pet me or play with me anymore. I think they want me to come with them, but hoomom says no... dogs dont go to college. Well, if that's the case why did I have to wear a silly graduation hat from training school? We will put a biscuit in that until later. Mom wrote her hoofriends a letter saying good luck... so I wanted to give my advice.


Here is my advice to my graduating hoofriends:

  1. 1. Always make time to be happy. I am a working dog- therapy dog, fence guarder, big brother, etc. I work hard all day, but nothing stops me from playing frisbee and chasing fireflies these days. If you dont find time to make you happy hoofriends, then who will? Your happiness is your job- eat the flower, sniff the poop and bask in the sun- whatever makes you happy.


  2. 2. Trust that things will be okay.Trust that everything happens for a reason. My hoomom put up a big white gate on the porch for some reason and it moved my flying exit place from the deck to the grass. I was really upset with her and mad that I could not jump off the deck anymore. But, it stopped this big, fat bunny from escaping the deck and I caught it and played with it. See trust the process; everything happens for a reason.

3. Try new things, even if they are scary. Today I tried riding in the moving box with a handle with hoobro. It was weird and I did not understand it but hoomom was giving treats out for participating so I figured why not? But, now when hoobro and hoomom take walks they put me in this wagon ride and it's quite pleasant to ride along and relax. See...try new things and you might like it.


4. Be present. Hoomom has been distracted by her typing box and talking box a lot lately. Hoobro and I do not like her looking at those and not us and we make sure to tell her all the time. She has not been throwing my frisbee as much... so I wiggled into her hands while she was on her talking box and nudged it into hoobro's big, baby pool. Be present then talking boxes dont have to go swimming and hoobro and me will be happy to have moms full attention again like we have been trying to teach her to do. Watch things you love not things that dont move.


Now, my last piece of advice is the most important. I want to say it nice and loud...


TAKE A DEEP BREATH. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF.


I know my hoofriends are awesome. They are loving. They are caring. They try hard. That is all you need to be good at being a big person. If you believe in yourself and you love, care, and try your best no one can ask anything more of you.




62 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page